Pagan Blog Project 2016 – D is for declensions, obviously!

This particular semester I have two floating prerequisites to fill in the liberal arts area, mostly due to being incredibly depressed the last time I was in school and not caring enough to even bother clicking the withdraw button on the school’s website.

I have moved from a community college to a Catholic college, which feels a bit odd sometimes, but it is a pretty campus and will allow me to not sit on a clinical registration list for 6 years in the way the community college would have. Besides lying to me that the Pope was at our school, it has been mostly okay. I don’t really have friends here, but this is normal to me throughout my life. I don’t usually mind.

The 2016 theme for the pagan blog project is supposed to be spiritual growth, and this week’s letter is D. I have decided that D is for declensions, which if anyone doesn’t know what that means, is the way of conjugating various words to indicate whether singular or plural; masculine or feminine, tenses, etcetera.

How is conjugation related to spiritual growth?
Though I have not been doing my proper time at the altar, I still identify as spiritually Hellenist. Speaking the name Hestia (Ἑστία)  still brings my soul an inner stillness that I appreciate. Though I knew there was an etymological connection suspected between hestia and the Spanish word está, I feel like studying Greek for one of those prerequisite liberal arts slots will be positive for my undrstanding. Many Catholics learn old Latin and Greek to read the Testaments, and this is no different. I hear there are books which do very well in acting as a ‘Bible’ for reconstructionists, I would very much like to read them in as close to the original source material as I could, lest translator bias (or plain lack of a close word to translate to!) seep in.

Secondarily, I would very much like to compose songs and prayers to the Gods in their language. Surely, I would be surprised if they did not understand me anyways, but it’s always nice to work in your primary language. It may also lead to some unexpected gnosis! That’s always fun.

 

Leave a Reply

