Pagan Blog Project – H is for Hestia, obviously!

After just posting G is for Goodbyes, I looked at the dates on the Pagan Blog Project. This is what happens when Lily pays no attention to dates on stuff. Which she usually doesn’t. Surprising I’ve never had bad milk or food poisoning. (knock on wood.)

So apparently this week’s Pagan Blog Project is, in fact, H! Someone somewhere said write about what you know, and some people don’t know who Hestia is.

Because of this, when I couldn’t make the deposit on my tattoo last week, I swore on Zeus instead that I’d show up to the appointment. (Side note, some girls next to us, the very pop-culture stupid teen types, didn’t know that name either. Also, they thought our friend’s Tourette’s were her trying to be funny. Stupid bi…) The tattooist started trying to explain Zeus, because anyone who went to fourth grade in America should know that name. Or ever watched the Hercules cartoons or movie. ANYWAYS.

Hestia.

Hestia is a deity the Greeks worshipped mostly in the home, which is why people are largely unfamiliar with her, I think. She didn’t get the great temples and big city processionals, but she’s something of a homebody, so I really don’t think she’d care for them anyways.

Hestia as a word means hearth, and she tended hers and always kept it burning, so that everyone might have a warm spot by the fire, perhaps with a little snack or two and a story to share.

Sometimes life happens, and I don’t honor her (or any of the theoi, for that matter) as I should. To which she seems to think “It’s okay dear, whenever you have the time.” Which just makes me sad, because appealing to my morals and such works so much better than actually punishing me.

(Example: in high school, for the few times I was texting in class, they never took my phone or sent me to the principle’s. One teacher just said “Lily, I expected better of you”. Gonk. You couldn’t just take my phone or yell at me, could you?)

I also think my devotion to Hestia explains why some people think my boyfriend and I live in a 1940s TV show – I do the cooking, the cleaning, and intend at some point to be a Nordwife too, with brewing mead and beer. (Where’s your 1940s now, huh?!)

I also hear rumor some Hestians are thought of as being “held down by the man”. Except, if you spend a full minute talking to the Hestians, you’ll find they’re happy with it. Hestia didn’t do it for a man; in fact, she rejected both offers of marriage from Apollo and Poseidon, and decided to remain an eternal virgin to stop a fight from happening between the two. She doesn’t need a man to be complete.

True, I was always looking at the more… glamourous gods and goddesses when I was looking for the one I was supposed to be with, which, looking back now, I really shouldn’t have. I am not a person who really seeks out glamour or wealth. I don’t even recall where I first stumbled across Hestia’s name, but… I am content with knitting and baking on a rainy day, and prefer the company of a few friends to a raging party. I like playing with my mice and spending time with kitties.

I totally understand Nuri’s “hyperactive introvert” comment she made about herself. I don’t like when people equate introvert with raging antisocial bitch, because that’s not how an introvert is. An introvert is an introvert, and a raging antisocial bitch is a raging antisocial bitch. These are not the same.

Though I haven’t read the Percy Jackson books, I did hear what he did with Hestia, which I think is pretty appropriate. Apparently she featured in “The Last Olympian”, as, well… the last Olympian. She said something or other about “When all the other gods have gone off to war, I am what remains.” Like a good ol’ army wife, she keeps home and is the girl worth fighting for that every soldier should have. She will miss her husband, but with a heart full of love she keeps the home ready for his return.

I am as feminist as any other gal, so hardcores, put your torches and pitchforks down. It’s just as oppressive to tell a girl she can’t wear makeup and heels if she wants to as it is to force her to wear them for her attractiveness. I choose to do my tea-brewing and garden-tending. I enjoy cuddling with tea thermos and blankies and just watching a movie. My idea of date night, 75% of the time, costs no money.

Boyfriend and I have even considered moving away from city and getting a little self-sufficiency with a farm. Now hush and let me make you stew and a scarf.

Khaire Hestia.

Lily. ❤

Leave a Reply

